Creating The USNS Mercy – Part 1 “Introduction”

Creating The Hospital Ship Based On The “The Last Ship” Series

So today I decided to try model something that was not part of my work / projects so far. I wanted to also try out another program to model in as it is better for you if you know more than one software for modeling if you are going to try get into industry , i sat down with my lecturer and he showed me everything i would need to know and answered my questions / showed me shortcuts to help out . I have decided to jump in the deep end and tackle a giant model with detail and see how it goes , I decided to model a giant ship , first I was going to model “The USS Nathan James” the main ship in the series shown bellow but it was very detailed and complicated , it  will be a future project I will try currently id like to stay with something basic in comparison. :

USS Nathan James :

Here is the hospital ship / similar styled ship I will be trying to make :

First off I decided to make a low poly version outline of the ship (roughly 3/4 of it done) :

CaptureCapture2

From here I was going to start on the corridors to sections of the ship however I came across the problem of connecting lines would not line up and many different problems involving being able to get to some of the parts of sections of the ship when my lecturer suggested that splitting the ship in to sections that I can put together after it is all done then it would be easier to make and also texture. Now knowing this , I duplicated the ship and removed parts so that I had a ship without a section I was going to work on then another model which was just that segment I was going to work on.

Capture3From here I worked on the corridors and removed the outside wall revealing the walk way / corridor , also adding in pillars / poles along with railings and other objects to decorate this section. Which i will show in my next post as i want to split these posts up as much as i can so i am posting more blogs to my site often.

Leave a comment