3D Asteroids Game – Creating The Models

So far in our lesson I have been working on creating a 3D asteroids game as we have already done a 2D asteroids I thought it would be smart to do something with similar elements in it.

I started first making a spaceship ,this was not a very good ship in my opinion however it was my first concept , I may re visit this model in the future and add more detail and guns to give the player a choice of what ship they want to use or maybe an unlock ship feature in my game , here is a gif of it (some browsers may not show it) :

original ship gif

Seen as though I did not think this ship met my requirements in my mind , I decided to save the ship for future and try another design in my mind , I used some reference pictures to research ships , then got to work. The spaceship is not a 100% completed design and may be changed in the future, I created the spaceship using 3DS Max , I added guns to the ship so when I code the attack feature to be able to shoot there will be somewhere to shoot from , if you look careful enough you can see I tried to add a slight extrude to the inside of the side parts of the ship to give it a bit more detail so it was not so plain on the exterior. Here is a gif of the ship and a screenshot of the little detail I was talking about along with the guns :

Ship :

ship new gif

Gun :

gun gif2

Inside detail :

inside gif

Now I had made the spaceship , It was not UV unwrapped or textured , it was simply a model to use to test features in my game. I now needed to make a simple asteroid to use to test the asteroids in game , I went back in to 3DS Max and started to make an asteroid , I started with a sphere then converted the sphere to a editable poly , I then used the face tool to extrude faces and move them around to create a rock like asteroid, here is what my asteroid looks like (also not textured or unwrapped):

asteroid gif

In my next post I will be talking about the start of code.

Leave a comment