Model Challenge

Yesterday we were challenged with the task of starting a completely random and fresh model we were assigned time periods and were told we had to get it done by then.

The time periods we were given were :

70 minutes to model

30 minutes to UV unwrap

30 minutes to texture


First task , think of a model , after wasting 5 minutes thinking of a model I decided to do a building in the general style of a Arma 3 building , the reference image I found is below:

2015-02-03_00001From here I decided how complex that building is and that I wanted to change things so I started making the floor plan and outline border of the building. I did including corners , pillars and floor/roof to start off , from then I thought about how people would travel throughout the building , I first thought of stairs and changed to just having a elevator was easier to do with the time period given to me therefore I made a simple elevator shaft from bottom to top of the building.

The next step was to get the floors added I added a few floors to the building. From here I proceeded to add walls to the building and creating gaps for the doorways and adding a balcony/open wall area on the top floor. the final product of this is shown below :

screenshot


The next stage was to UV Wrap and texture the building however there was so many different parts to it and as I do not really know how to UV Wrap so I could not texture my building , it is something I need to work and go back over the tutorials created by my lecturer in my own time.

Leave a comment